Home New Releases Ex Runaways CHERIE CURRIE teams with The Veronicas, Billy Corgan, Slash, Juliette Lewis & more on ‘Blvds of Splendor’ Album

Ex Runaways CHERIE CURRIE teams with The Veronicas, Billy Corgan, Slash, Juliette Lewis & more on ‘Blvds of Splendor’ Album

5 min read

70’s Icon and Ex-Runaways singer Cherie Currie has released her latest solo project which features a bevy of rocks finest on the new album, Blvds of Splendor. The album is available digitally today via Blackheart Records HERE and features guest collaborations with Billy Corgan of Smashing Pumpkins, Slash and Duff from Guns N’ Roses, as well as Juliette Lewis, Brody Dalle, The Veronicas and drummer Matt Sorum (Guns N’ Roses, Velvet Revolver), who also produced the set.

“Cherie’s voice tells it all, she is the real deal. And now more than ever that voice tells the story of where’s she’s been in her life. This record is about who Cherie Currie is now. We’ve waited a long time to hear this icon of Rock N’ Roll do what she does best. I’m very proud to be a part of this album by one of the best female singers of all time.” said Matt.

Cherie & Matt originally began work on Blvds of Splendor when Cherie was promoting The Runaways movie (currently streaming on Netflix) which stars Dakota Fanning as Cherie and Kristen Stewart as Joan Jett.  After its inception, Cherie went back to work on her chainsaw  carvings (see here: CNN) and did other studio work for 2015’s Reverie release, which features some of the last works of legendary Runaways manager/producer Kim Fowley.

In 2016, Cherie was set to release Blvds of Splendor when she had a near death accident while chainsaw carving falling over 12 feet to the ground off of a hilltop scaffolding.  The accident left Cherie with partial facial paralysis and severe head trauma for over 10 months.   After her recovery, she met and went in the studio with Fanny drummer & vocalist Brie Darling and in 2019 they released their critically acclaimed The Motivator album via Blue Elan Records.  Cherie is back to chainsaw carving again and is ready to finally release  Blvds of Splendor. I’ve never had so much fun making a record before. We all looked at each other and went, ‘Oh my God, there’s magic happening here Cherie said.

Blvds of Splendor was released on 180 Gram Translucent Red Vinyl for Record Store Day in 2019 with a limited run of 3000 copies.  This is the first time the highly anticipated album is available worldwide digitally for the fans. The digital release features three bonus tracks (including a remake of The Runaways classic “Queens of Noise” featuring Brody Dalle, The Veronicas, Juliette Lewis and Matt Sorum paying homage to late Runaways drummer Sandy West) that were not included on the Record Store Day vinyl release.

“Blvds of Splendor” Tracklist:
01.  Black Magic
02.  Breakout
03.  You Wreck Me
04.  Mr X
05.  Force To Be Reckoned With
06.  Rock N’Roll Oblivion
07.  Roxy Roller
08.  Give Me
09.  Bad And Broken
10.  The Air That I Breathe
11.  Blvds of Splendor
12.  Queens Of Noise
13.  Shades

View the Queens of Noise Recording Session
View In studio with Slash, Duff McKagan & Matt Sorum
View Behind The Scenes with Cherie & Matt Sorum
View Billy Corgan & Cherie in studio




Load More Related Articles
Load More By Admin
Load More In New Releases
Comments are closed.

Check Also

The 8th Of May is MOTORHEAD Day! Come & Celebrate The Loudest Day Of The Year!

“Whenever Motörhead performs, they leave the audience deafened, drained and damp. Are you …