Home New Releases SIMPLY RED Release New Single ‘Complete Love’ – New Album Blue Eyed Soul on Nov 8 via BMG

SIMPLY RED Release New Single ‘Complete Love’ – New Album Blue Eyed Soul on Nov 8 via BMG

4 min read

Simply Red are back with ‘Blue Eyed Soul’, a ten track masterclass in funky, brassy soul music and emotionally charged ballads, available to pre-order now.

It’s their first new studio album in four years and the 12th in their stellar career.

New single, Complete Love is available now

Listen to it here

A soulful ode from a loving husband and father to the two most important women in his life, Mick Hucknall’s vocal on ‘Complete Love’ playfully works in a call and response way with the bewitching brass section and sweet strings. On the track, Mick commented, “As I was reflecting on my own life I thought about how I have a wife and daughter who love me, and I feel that it’s complete now. I’ve been loved, and that’s what we all want more than anything in life; to be loved.


Recorded in London at British Grove Studios, all ten tracks on Blue Eyed Soul were written by Mick Hucknall and produced by long time collaborator Andy Wright.

He’s got blue eyes and a soulful voice, and it’s Hucknall’s remarkable voice that takes centre stage on this record.

I wanted to push my voice a little harder, challenge it a little bit, give myself something to really sing to.

The results are simply sensational. Recorded as live, with few overdubs, ‘Blue Eyed Soul’ drew on inspiration from classic funk and soul:

Isaac Hayes, Curtis Mayfield, James Brown, Bobby ‘Blue’ Bland and Tower of Power.

Simply Red have over a billion hits on YouTube, and have sold over 60 million albums since forming over thirty years ago. Holding back the years indeed.

At this stage of my career, I could do one of those dark reflective albums looking back on my life and all that kind of stuff that people tend to do at a certain age,” Mick Hucknall admits. “But I thought sod that! I wanted to make something punchy. I want to have a good time.

And that’s exactly what you get throughout ‘Blue Eyed Soul’, satisfaction guaranteed.

Blue Eyed Soul Tracklisting:
1. Thinking of You
2. Sweet Child
3. Complete Love
4. Take a Good Look
5. Ring That Bell
6. BadBootz
7. Don’t Do Down
8. Riding on a Train
9. Chula
10. Tonight

Watch and listen to the albums first singles now!

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Admin
Load More In New Releases
Comments are closed.

Check Also

MICHAEL SCHENKER to release new MSG album in January 2021!

Michael Schenker is currently in the final stages of recording a brand-new MSG album, whic…