Home New Releases TROY CASSAR-DALEY’s first studio album in 5 years ‘The World Today’ out now!

TROY CASSAR-DALEY’s first studio album in 5 years ‘The World Today’ out now!

6 min read

Thirty years deep into a stellar career, Troy Cassar-Daley has today released his most remarkable album to date, THE WORLD TODAY, via Sony Music Entertainment Australia.

THE WORLD TODAY is the 11th studio album from the multiple ARIA and Golden Guitar winner and is his most personal album to date dealing with loss, acceptance and ‘story’, all while finding a will to grow stronger and move forward in these troubling times. 

Troy explains, “An old uncle of mine used to say ‘it’s not all beer and skittles’ and that saying is so true. Over the last couple of years the family life and work life balance that I’d always had, shifted. It became a monumental struggle”.  He added, “On top of that I lost my Dad in 2019. People knew of his passing but what I didn’t share is that he took his own life. It hit me incredibly hard and I feel I didn’t give myself the time to grieve. Then came Covid and that’s when I really hit rock bottom.”

Pulling himself from that dark time, Troy found joy in writing with old friends and playing bass and drums on some of the rough demos in his home studio, then in Sydney in the hands of producer Matt Fell with a handpicked bunch of incredible musicians and engineer Ted Howard – the record was finished in just under a month.

This new collection of songs stem from Troy’s story and his ability to write about a bigger picture that affects us all.

While Troy leads the song writing charge on THE WORLD TODAY, he has also worked with Australian song writing royalty in the process. Take a look at the credits and you’ll spot alongside Troy’s own name the likes of Don Walker, Paul Kelly, Kevin Bennett, Shane Howard, Greg Storer and Ian Moss.

The album’s first single, Back On Country’, is the story of loving a place and wanting to look after it. Other highlights on the record include Heart Like A Small Town’, ‘I Hear My River’, ‘My Heart Still Burns For You’ (a paean to his wife Laurel who he also got to sing harmonies on), the one-two punch of the prison songs about Troy’s cousins; songs that deal with the stories of those that are close to him. ‘Paroleand ‘Doin’ Time’ are stark reminders of incarceration and of the challenges facing many men and women today.

It’s testament to the longstanding career of the 50th inductee into the prestigious Australasian Roll Of Renown and has been awarded numerous accolades including 37 Golden Guitars, 4 ARIAs, 3 APRA Song of the Year Awards, 9 Deadlys (Australian Indigenous Artist Awards), 4 CMAA Entertainer of the Year Awards plus 2 NIMAs (National Indigenous Music Awards).   After spending the majority of 2020 writing and recording at home, Troy is currently touring with Midnight Oil for their Midnight Oil & First Nations Collaborators – ‘MAKARRATA LIVE’ tour and has a run of solo dates coming up, including Bluesfest Byron Bay, Gympie Music Muster, Deni Ute Muster and Savannah in the Round. For more information, visit troycassardaley.com.au/touring/


  1. Back on Country
  2. My Heart Still Burns For You
  3. Parole
  4. Doin’ Time
  5. Heart Like A Small Town
  6. Drive In The Dark (Be A Man)
  7. The World Today
  8. I Still Believe
  9. Rain Maker
  10. Too Big For This Town
  11. Broken Hearts Can Fly
  12. South
  13. How You Fall
  14. I Hear My River


Load More Related Articles
Load More By Admin
Load More In New Releases
Comments are closed.

Check Also

BLIS n ESO announce national Australian ‘Send It Tour’ for June/July 2021 | New single ‘Good People (feat. Kasey Chambers)’ out today!

Illusive Presents and Frontier Touring are pumped to announce a national Australian tour f…